Against the Grain

Slightly more than just jibba jabba

The Canon Rock Showdown

Posted by Patrick on 5 Jan 2007

I got turned on to this by a post by WordPress’ own Vid a Day blog showing the “kid” that I know to be the Korean guy funtwo rocking out to Pachelbel’s Canon in D. When I saw this video stating that it is funtwo playing JerryC’s arrangement, I sorta got upset about it in a guitar virtuoso geek kind of way. Without sidetracking too far, I’ll say that I’d like to see funtwo come up with his own arrangement of something and not just play covers all the time. In this sense, I’ve got to vote that JerryC > funtwo on originality.

JerryC’s variation on Canon in D is rawk, don’t get me wrong; I follow JerryC’s music when he does something new. But then, oh ho ho, I started to see if there an even better rendition of Canon out there. And boy I didn’t have to look far. I found this kid on YouTube who goes by mattrach (probably part of his real name) that posted a rendition. It’s absolutely a must-watch, as this kid annihilates any doubt. After watching this seemingly original rendition (I’m not going to troll for copies of it), I’ve got to re-vote that mattrach’s Canon > JerryC’s Canon.

My notes on this video: I love the Ibanez Jem series guitar; they’re distinguishable by the monkey grip at the top of the shoulder. I used to own a Jem 777 so they have a special place with me. The kid reminds me of so many punk and rock players, but most notably, I think he looks like Flea (RHCP) and he gets into his playing a lot like, I dunno, Eddie VanHalen.

Prepare to be amazed. Now click play. editors note: the original video is back if you visited earlier and I noted it as a substitute

One Response to “The Canon Rock Showdown”

  1. Awesome playing! Very cool styles! Very innovative and emotive! (funtwo is good – the real genius lies in Pachabel himself of course!)

    “If you ask I will attempt to teach you ANYTHING you wish to learn about music (songs, chords, riffs, leads, improvisation, theory, composition, etc.) on ANY instrument of your choice – voice, stringed-bowed & plucked: guitar, bass, violin, viola, banjo, pedal steel, etc. woodwinds: sax, flute, clarinet, etc. brass: trumpet, etc. percussion: drumkit, congas, etc.-including maintenance, some repairs or even sound reinforcement, recording, OR ANY magic/bar trick OR investment advice!! Just ask!!”

Leave a Reply

 
